
Applying for a Marriage License in New Jersey 

 Requirements for entering into a Marriage: 

 For two persons to establish a Marriage in this State, it shall be necessary that they satisfy all of the 

following criteria: 

 ✓ Not be a party to another civil union, domestic partnership or marriage in this State or recognized 

by this State; and 

✓ Be at least 18 years of age. 

 Where to apply: 

 The marriage license application is to be made in the New Jersey municipality in which either party 

resides and the license is valid throughout the State of New Jersey. If neither applicant is a New 

Jersey resident, submit the application in the municipality where the marriage/civil union ceremony 

will be performed, the license is only valid in the issuing municipality. 

 Application Appointments required – Clerk’s Office 908-689-6151 Ext 100 or Ext. 128 
Monday – Thursday 9 am – 4:30 pm & Friday 8:30 am – 4:00 pm 
 

Obtain application on Mansfield Township website or in Clerk’s Office 

 Required documents when applying for a Marriage license:  

✓ Proof of identity such as your driver’s license, passport, or state/federal I.D.  

✓ Proof of your residency. 

✓ A witness, 18 years of age or older with current photo id including current address . 

 ✓ The $28 application fee – cash or check payable to Mansfield Township  

 
*Social security number is required by law for US citizens and will be kept confidential. 
 
Needed for Application: 

✓ Wedding date 
✓ Town the ceremony is taking place 
✓ Name & address of person performing ceremony 
✓ If divorced – need date, town & state divorce was finalized 
✓ Do not fill in the back signature page 

 
 After you apply:  

✓ Marriage Licenses are issued after the mandatory seventy-two (72) hours hold period and will be 

valid for thirty (30) days upon issuance. 

 ✓ Certified copies can only be obtained from the municipality where the event occurred OR the state 

office via in person, online, or mail in request.  

Questions and further information: 
Mansfield Township Clerk’s Office 
908-689-6151 Ext. 100 
www.mansfieldtownship-nj.gov 
 

http://www.mansfieldtownship-nj.gov/


 


